Skip Navigation LinksHome|Awards Dinner|Attend the Awards

Asia CEO of the Year Awards

In 2013, we introduced a new award that acknowledged the tremendous leadership behind the financial growth of energy companies in Asia. Platts bestowed honors to the "Asia CEO of the Year," who was chosen by a panel of independent judges from the below finalists.

To be considered for the Platts Top 250 Global Energy Company Rankings' Asia CEO of the Year award, nominated chief executive officers had to be from a company in the 2014 Platts Top 250 Rankings which is headquartered in Asia.

For a CEO to win Asia CEO of the Year, he or she needs to have consistently demonstrated clarity of vision, judgment and motivational skills that transform and empower their organization. The winner will be a leader who is highly respected by both peers and competitors, admired and followed by employees, trusted by investors and welcomed by the community.

This award is for recognition of courage, dedication, ethics and the ability to bring about real change for the better at a company level, in the industry as a whole and in the lives of employees.

The online nomination form requires:
(300 word maximum per criteria, company profile and nomination summary)

  • Company name
  • Country of headquarters
  • Contact information for nominator and CEO
  • Company profile
  • CEO summary
  • Specified judging criteria

Judging Criteria

  • Achievements
  • Decisiveness
  • Innovation
  • Integrity
  • Leadership
  • Strategic Vision

As an added benefit, all Asia CEO of the Year nominations will be automatically included in the nomination pool for the Platts Global Energy Awards, a sister international honors program that recognizes exemplary achievements in nearly two dozen awards categories that will be held in New York City in December.

All nominations must be submitted by September 10th.

Congratulations to the past Asia CEO of the Year winners!

2014 - Chengyu Fu, chairman of China Petrochemical Corporation (Sinopec Group), China
2013 - Fanrong Li with CNOOC Ltd

The winners were chosen from the following list of finalists:

Dr. Pailin Chuchottaworn, president and chief executive officer of PTT Public Company Limited, Thailand
Chengyu Fu, chairman of China Petrochemical Corporation (Sinopec Group), China
H.L. Kam, group managing director of Cheung Kong Infrastructure Holdings Limited, Hong Kong
Mr. Fanrong Li, chief executive officer of China National Offshore Oil Corporation (CNOOC) Limited, China
Datuk Seri Ir. Azman Mohd, president and chief executive officer of Tenaga Nasional Bhd, Malaysia
S. K. Srivastava, chairman and managing director of Oil India Limited, India
Shri B.C. Tripathi, chairman and managing director of GAIL (India) Limited, India
Ms. Nishi Vasudeva, chairman and managing director of Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited, India

Elango P, Cairn India Ltd
Fanrong Li, CNOOC Ltd
Oscar Reyes, Manila Electric Co
Sudhir Vasudeva, Oil & Natural Gas Corp Ltd
Dr. Pailin Chuchottaworn, PTT Public Company Ltd

For additional information, contact Samuel Tang at +65 6530 6510 or at

Top 250 Rankings Search